Founders' Award

Established by The American Society of Dermatopathology in 1983 in honor of the Founding Members of the Society, this endowed award is conceived to recognize individuals who have made outstanding original and significant contributions to the field of dermatopathology.

Congratulations to the 2023 Founders’ Award Recipient

Professor Richard Scolyer AO
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Sydney, Australia

Professor Richard Scolyer AO, BMedSci, MBBS, MD, FRCPA, FRCPath, FAHMS is Senior Staff Specialist, Tissue Pathology and Diagnostic Oncology, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney; Co- Medical Director, Melanoma Institute Australia; and Conjoint Professor, Sydney Medical School, Faculty of Medicine and Health, The University of Sydney. He provides a clinical consultation service for the diagnosis of difficult pigmented lesions and receives more than 2000 cases for opinion from Australasia and beyond annually. Richard effectively integrates his clinical practice with co-leading an award winning translational melanoma research laboratory. His record includes co-authoring more than 860 peer reviewed publications, books and/or book-chapters including in prestigious journals such as New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet, Nature, Cell, Nature Genetics, Lancet Oncology, Journal of Clinical Oncology, Journal of the National Cancer Institute and Cancer Discovery with >72,741 citations and a H-index of 126 (Google Scholar as at 14 April 2023). Richard has presented on more than 430 occasions at conferences throughout the world.  In June 2021, he was appointed Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to medicine, particularly in the field of melanoma and skin cancer, and to national and international professional organizations by The Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia. In 2020, he received the NSW Premier's Award for Outstanding Cancer Researcher of the Year, the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA) Distinguished Fellow Award 2020, The University of Sydney’s 2020 Alumni Award for International Achievement and Clarivate Web of Science Group “Highly Cited Researcher in 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022”. He has received the NSW Premier's Award for Outstanding Cancer Research in 2009, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2021 and 2022; the Thomson Reuters 2015 Citation Award in the Clinical Medicine category, the 2018 William O. Russell/Joanne Vandenberge Hill Award for Lifetime Achievement in Anatomical Pathology, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Research Australia’s 2018 GSK Award for Research Excellence, the 2019 American Society of Dermatopathology’s Elson B Helwig Lecturer Award, the 2021 University of Tasmania Distinguished Alumni Award and the 2021 University of Sydney’s Vice-Chancellor Award for Outstanding Research. According to Thomson Reuters ISI Web of Knowledge, Richard is the highest ever published scientist in the world in the field of melanoma pathology and he also has the highest H index in this field. In November 2022, he was ranked the world’s 6th leading melanoma expert in any field or discipline and the world’s leading melanoma pathologist. In September 2019, Richard was ranked as the leading Australian Pathologist in the entire field of Pathology.

Richard is an expert member of the World Health Organization (WHO) Blue Books Editorial Board for the 5th edition of the WHO Classification of Skin Tumours series and was an editor of the 4th Edition of the World Health Organization Classification of Tumours Skin Tumours volume in which he was the responsible editor for 3 of the 6 sections and authored/co-authored more than 40 chapters. He has also been an invited contributing author to 6 other volumes of the WHO Classification of Tumours including for Soft Tissue and Bone, Digestive System, Thoracic, Female Genital Tract and Pediatric tumours. He is also Vice Chair of the Melanoma Expert Panel of the American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) for the 8th and 9th editions of AJCC Cancer Staging System, co-leads the Australian Melanoma Genome Project (part of the International Cancer Genome Consortium), was lead pathologist for the NIH funded The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) Melanoma Project (Cell, 2015), chairs the Melanoma Expert Panel for the International Collaboration on Cancer Reporting, lead pathologist/member of the overseeing Management Committee, Multidisciplinary Working Party and Author for the Australian Melanoma Clinical Practice Guidelines and co-lead author of the College of American Pathologists Melanoma Reporting protocol. He is Editor-in-Chief of Pathology and is also an editorial board member of the American Journal of Surgical Pathology, Modern Pathology and Histopathology and several other international journals. Richard is a Past President of the Australasian Division of the International Academy of Pathology and former International Vice President representing Australasia on the International Academy of Pathology International Council. In 2019, Richard was the RCPA visiting Professor/Lecturer to Asia. Together with other MIA colleagues, Richard has been chief investigator on 3 consecutive 5 year NHMRC program grants and has received multiple personal Fellowships from the NHMRC and CINSW.  He has also been an investigator/advisor on multiple phase 1, 2 and 3 clinical trials and a frequently sought-after advisor to industry.

Past Recipients of the Founders' Award

Award YearRecipient
2022Boris C. Bastian, MD
2021Klaus J. Busam, MD
2020Joan Guitart, MD
2019Phillip H. McKee, MD, FRCPath
2018James W. Patterson, MD
2017Clifton R. White, Jr., MD
2016Christopher R. Shea, MD
2015Lorenzo Cerroni, MD
2014Thomas D. Horn, MD
2013Dirk M. Elston, MD
2012Ronald P. Rapini, MD
2011Raymond L. Barnhill MD
2010Daniel J. Santa Cruz, MD
2009Antoinette F. Hood MD
2008Jag Bhawan, MD
2007Wilma F. Bergfeld, MD, FACP, FAAD
2006Ronald J. Barr, MD
2005David D. Weedon, AO MD FRCPA
2004Philip E. LeBoit, MD
2003Ernst H. Beutner, MD PhD
2002John C. Maize, Sr., MD
2001Franz M. Enzinger
2000Waine C. Johnson, MD
1999Loren E. Golitz, MD
1998Martin Charles Mihm, MD
1997Edward Wilson Jones, FRCP, FRCPath
1996John R. Haserick, MD
1995Herbert Z. Lund, MD
1993Richard J. Reed, MD
1992John T. Headington, MD
1991Robert G. Freeman, MD
1990James H. Graham, MD
1989A. Bernard Ackerman, MD
1988Wallace H. Clark, MD
1987Richard K. Winkelmann, MD
1986Walter F. Lever, MD
1985Elson B. Helwig, MD
1984Hermann Pinkus, MD