The American Society of Dermatopathology


About ASDP

The American Society of Dermatopathology was founded in 1962 to improve the quality of dermatopathology and the treatment of skin diseases.

The mission of the American Society of Dermatopathology (ASDP) is to improve patient care, support member needs and advance the field of Dermatopathology through education, advocacy and innovation
The vision of the ASDP is to improve the quality of lives by advancing dermatopathology..

ASDP History

Meet the pioneers of dermatopathology who formed the American Society of  Dermatopathology. ASDP's Founders

ASDP History
ASDP's history is described in this 1993 article published in the Journal of Cutaneous Pathology. Read more.

Video History
Interviews about some of the early acheivements and milestones in dermatopathology and ASDP. Watch now.


The Future

During the 2012 ASDP Annual Meeting, we interviewed some of the leaders of the society and learned what they think is the future of dermatopathology. Watch now.

What is a Dermatopathologist?

Dermatopathologists are physicians who after completing their training in either dermatology or pathology pursued additional training in accredited programs for the interpretation of skin biopsies. These physicians integrate the clinical information with microscopic observations of the biopsy from the patient to provide diagnostic information to the treating physician. Dermatopathology is a consultative service to the referring dermatologist and not simply a laboratory test. The accurate microscopic interpretation of the biopsy is important in the selection of appropriate therapies.