The American Society of Dermatopathology

Walter R. Nickel Award
for Excellence in Teaching of Dermatopathology

Established by The American Society of Dermatopathology in 1997 in honor of Walter R. Nickel, this award was conceived to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the teaching of dermatopathology.

Congratulations to the 2018 Walter R. Nickel Award Recipient

Victor G. Prieto, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Victor G Prieto, MD, PhD, is a professor of Pathology at UT – MD Anderson Cancer Center, where he has been the chair of the department of pathology since 2014. He received his MD from the University of Alicante, and his PhD from the University of Barcelona, Spain. He completed residency training in pathology at the New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center, and took fellowship training in oncologic pathology at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and in Dermatopathology at the New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center.

Dr. Prieto spent three years as an assistant professor of pathology and dermatology at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, and then joined the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in 1999. In addition to being chair of the department he is director of the Fellowship Program of Surgical Pathology.

His research interests are primarily in the molecular biology of melanocytic neoplasms as well as immunohistochemical analysis of cutaneous neoplasms. He is the co-director of the Pathology Core of the MDACC Skin Cancer SPORE.

Dr. Prieto is the secretary treasurer of the International Society of Dermatopathology, and is currently a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Cutaneous Pathology, American Journal of Dermatopathology, and Annals of Diagnostic Pathology. He is a contributor to the WHO fascicles on cutaneous neoplasms and gastrointestinal (anal) neoplasms.

Past Recipients of the Walter R. Nickel Award

2017 M. Angelica Selim, MD
2016 Rosalie Elenitsas, MD
2015 Philip E. LeBoit, MD
2014 Omar P. Sangueza, MD
2013 Lori Lowe, MD
2012 Ronald J. Barr, MD
2011 Jennifer M. McNiff, MD
2010 Hideko Kamino, MD
2009 James W. Patterson, MD
2008 Dirk M. Elston, MD
2007 Bernett L. Johnson Jr., MD
2006 Jag Bhawan, MD
2005 Ronald P. Rapini, MD
2004 Bruce R. Smoller, MD
2003 Terence J. Harrist, MD
2002 N. Scott McNutt, MD
2001 Antoinette F. Hood, MD
2000 Wilma F. Bergfeld, MD
1999 James H. Graham, MD
1998 A. Bernard Ackerman, MD
1997 Elson B. Helwig, MD