The American Society of Dermatopathology

Return to committee list

M. Yadira Hurley, MD


Dr. M. Yadira Hurley is a Professor of Dermatology and Pathology at Saint Louis University (SLU) School ‎of Medicine who directs the Dermatopathology Division, has a clinical interest in cutaneous ‎lymphomas and clinicopathologic correlation for improving patient care, and is a principal investigator ‎in clinic trials for systemic medications and biologics. ‎

After participating in question writing for residents and fellows, education of learners at various levels, ‎maintenance of certification for the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) and the American ‎Society of Dermatopathology (ASDP), Dr. Hurley understands the importance of having educational ‎and other tools that help dermatopathologists provide high quality care and achieve value in their ‎practice. She is dedicated, has a strong work ethic, and is committed to transparency.‎

Dr. Hurley was chair of the Appropriate Use Criteria (AUC) Task Force for the ASDP, which successfully ‎created the first set of AUC in Dermatopathology. AUC help provide necessary care, lower costs, ‎ensure efficient use of laboratory resources, and provide a foundation for utilization studies.  This task ‎force also compiled a comprehensive review of the available literature for the examined ancillary ‎studies. ‎

Dr. Hurley completed an internship in internal medicine, residency in dermatology and fellowship in ‎dermatopathology at Washington University School of Medicine in Saint Louis. She joined SLU after her ‎fellowship, where she practices dermatology and dermatopathology.‎ 

ASDP service:
2021 - present     President-Elect
2020 - present  Executive Committee
2020 - present Board of Directors
2019 - present Quality Committee Chair
2019 - present Appropriate Use Criteria Committee Panel Rater
2020 - 2021 President-Elect
2018 - 2020 Finance Committee
2016 - 2018 Maintenance of Certification Committee Chair
2016 - 2017 Fellows In-Service Committee Chair
2015 - 2017 Appropriate Use Criteria Committee Chair
2014 - 2016 Maintenance of Certification Committee
2012 - 2016 Representative to the American Family Physician's Editorial Advisory Board