The American Society of Dermatopathology

Return to committee list

Lyn McDivitt Duncan, MD

Immediate Past President

Dr. Lyn McDivitt Duncan received her medical degree and completed training in Anatomic Pathology at Washington University in St. Louis in 1986 and 1990, respectively. After training in dermatopathology at the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) and Harvard Medical School she joined the MGH faculty as a full-time diagnostic dermatopathologist in 1991. In 1993, Dr. Duncan assumed leadership of the Harvard Dermatopathology Training Program, and served as Program Director for the following decade. As a complement to her diagnostic work, Dr. Duncan's research has focused on cutaneous lymphoma and melanocytic neoplasia.  She served as the MGH Site PI of the Harvard Sponsored Program in Organized Research Excellence (SPORE) in Skin Cancer from 2003 to 2013. Dr. Duncan established a multi-institutional team of Skin SPORE investigators and developed a tissue-based resource for investigating melanocytic tumor progression biomarkers that has been published in the Journal of Cutaneous Pathology, Cell, Nature, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, the Journal of Clinical Investigation, and Cancer Research. She is on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Cutaneous Pathology.

Dr. Duncan’s primary focus is on diagnostic dermatopathology and she served as the Chief of the MGH Dermatopathology Unit from 2007 to 2020. A member of the ASDP since 1992, she has served on the Continuing Education and Research Committee, the History Committee, the Nominating Committee, and the Peer Review Committee, and completed a three-year term as Secretary-Treasurer of the ASDP before being elected President-Elect in 2019. Dr. Duncan has been a principle driver of the Ad-hoc Dermatopathology Fellowship Match Committee and serves as Dermatopathology Representative on the Fellowship Directors Committee of the Association of Pathology Chairs. She has written numerous book chapters in leading textbooks and served as senior editor of the Atlas of Essential Dermatopathology (Springer 2013), and the Atlas of Cutaneous Lymphomas (Springer 2015). 

ASDP service:
2021 - 2022 Immediate Past President
2020 - 2021 President
2019 - 2020    President-Elect
2016 - 2019 Appropriate Use Criteria Committee
2016 - 2019 Secretary-Treasurer
2015 - present        Representative to the Association of Pathology Chairs' (APC) Fellowship Directors Ad Hoc Committee (FDAHC)
2015 - present Board of Directors and Executive Committee
2015 - 2019 Finance Committee
2015 - 2016 Secretary Treasurer-Elect
2013 - 2019 Fellowship Match Program Chair
2013 - 2019 Audit Committee
2012 - 2013 Nominations Committee Member-at-Large
2011 - 2014 Peer Review Committee (Chair 2013 - 2014)
2010 - 2018 History Committee (Chair 2017 - 2018)
1997 - 2002 Continuing Education and Research Committee (Chair 2001 - 2002)