The American Society of Dermatopathology

Return to committee list

Klaus J. Busam, MD


Dr. Busam graduated from the medical school of the University of Freiburg in Germany. After a postdoctoral fellowship at the National Cancer Institute he completed a residency in Anatomic Pathology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and subsequently a fellowship in Dermatopathology at the combined Harvard program. In 1996 he joined the department of Pathology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York, where he is the director of the Dermatopathology service and director of the combined fellowship program with Cornell University. Dr. Busam is a Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Cornell University.
Dr. Busam’s academic work has been largely focused on improvements in the diagnostic accuracy and prognosis of melanocytic tumors through clinicopathologic correlations and the use of ancillary methods, including immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics, and sequence analysis. He leads the pathology core of the NIH-funded InterMel international melanoma research consortium. Collaborative efforts with colleagues locally, nationally and internationally have led to more than 400 publications in journals. 
Dr. Busam is passionate about sharing knowledge. He has edited, co-edited or contributed chapters to leading textbooks in melanocyte tumor pathology, general Dermatopathology, and the WHO skin tumor book. He also organized or contributed to many educational courses or seminars. He is a member of the editorial boards of the Am J Surg Pathol and Mod Pathol, and has served on various committees of the ASDP and on the International Collaboration on Cancer Reporting (ICCR) expert committee for melanoma. Dr. Busam also chairs the ICCR expert committee for Merkel cell carcinoma. 

ASDP service:
2021 - present     President-Elect
2021 - present  Executive Committee
2020 - 2022 Ethics Committee
2019 - 2021 Diagnostic Quality Assurance Committee
2018 - present Board of Directors 
2017 - 2019 Finance Committee
2017 - 2019 Program Committee Ad Hoc Member
2014 - 2015 Program Committee Chair
2011 - 2015 Program Committee
2009 - 2011 Dermatopathology Fellowship Training Directors' Committee