The American Society of Dermatopathology

Journal of Cutaneous Pathology's New Editor

ASDP is pleased to announce that Christopher R. Shea, MD, has assumed the role of of the Journal of Cutaneous Pathology (JCP) editor in chief. He is replacing Timothy McCalmont, MD, who had served as the JCP editor for more than six years. Dr. Shea officially took over the role on August 1, 2016. 
shea.JPGASDP extends its thanks to Dr. McCalmont, who served as editor of the JCP since January 2010. His contributions to the success of JCP and his value to ASDP cannot be understated. Dr. McCalmont's work at JCP has been described as provocative, insightful and authoritative.

Dr. Shea has considerable experience in scientific writing, editing and publishing. He has authored or co-authored more than 160 peer-reviewed papers as well as 48 chapters in the fields of dermatopathology, dermatology and related disciplines. He is the primary editor of a new book in dermatopathology, Pathology of Challenging Melanocytic Neoplasms (New York: Springer 2015).

Dr. Shea serves on the editorial boards of the American Journal of Dermatopathology and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. He served as the associate editor of dermatopathology for the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology from 2008-13 and was responsible for soliciting all reviews and rendering all preliminary scores and recommendations regarding publication for all the dermatopathologic manuscripts submitted to JAAD. Until he assumed the role of editor in chief, Dr. Shea also served on the editorial board of the Journal of Cutaneous Pathology. 

Dr. Shea is triple board-certified in dermatology, dermatopathology and anatomic pathology, and has been chief of the section of dermatology at the University of Chicago since 2001. Dr. Shea has spent many years in educational administration, including service as program director of the dermatopathology fellowships at Duke University and University of Chicago from 1995-2013, and reviewing scientific grant applications as a member of the VA Medical Service Merit Review Subcommittee on Oncology from 2006-11.