The American Society of Dermatopathology

Walter R. Nickel Award
for Excellence in Teaching of Dermatopathology

Established by The American Society of Dermatopathology in 1997 in honor of Walter R. Nickel, this award was conceived to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the teaching of dermatopathology.

Congratulations to the 2019 Walter R. Nickel Award Recipient

Tammie C. Ferringer, MD
Section Head and Fellowship Director, Dermatopathology
Geisinger Medical Center

Dr. Ferringer is Geisinger Medical Laboratory's section head and fellowship director of dermatopathology. She earned her MD at Medical College of Pennsylvania and completed her dermatology residency at Geisinger Medical Center in Danville, Pennsylvania. After completing her dermatopathology fellowship at Medical University of South Carolina under Drs. John Maize and John Metcalf in 2004, Dr. Ferringer returned to Geisinger Medical Center to fulfil her passion to teach and mentor. 

In 2009, she took over as program director for the dermatopathology fellowship which now has successfully graduated 24 fellows with one-half entering academics to further the legacy of educating future generations. In addition, she directs the dermatology residency curriculum in dermatopathology which has become one of the programs many strengths. Visiting professorship invitations at several programs has provided her the joy of teaching in various settings. Beyond the informal advisory role to residents, fellows, students, and junior staff members, she has formally mentored through the AAD Academic Dermatology Leadership Program, JAAD Mentorship Program, and the ASDP Mentorship Program.

Dr. Ferringer is currently on the board of directors of the American Society of Dermatopathology and American Board of Dermatology.  She has served on over 40, and chaired over 10, committees, task forces, and work groups of the AAD, APD, ABD, ASDP, ISDP, ACGME, WDS and ABP. Her current editorial roles include Associate editor of Cutis and editorial board of JAAD. She has directed or moderated over thirty courses or sessions and been invited speaker for more than 200 domestic and international lectures on a variety of topics, including tropical and infectious disease, adnexal tumors, and immunohistochemistry in over fifteen countries. Her current literary contributions include over 75 journal articles or textbook chapters, co-editor of a dermatopathology textbook, and co-author of an online and mobile dermatopathology application.

Past Recipients of the Walter R. Nickel Award

2018 Victor G. Prieto, MD, PhD
2017 M. Angelica Selim, MD
2016 Rosalie Elenitsas, MD
2015 Philip E. LeBoit, MD
2014 Omar P. Sangueza, MD
2013 Lori Lowe, MD
2012 Ronald J. Barr, MD
2011 Jennifer M. McNiff, MD
2010 Hideko Kamino, MD
2009 James W. Patterson, MD
2008 Dirk M. Elston, MD
92007 Bernett L. Johnson Jr., MD
2006 Jag Bhawan, MD
2005 Ronald P. Rapini, MD
2004 Bruce R. Smoller, MD
2003 Terence J. Harrist, MD
2002 N. Scott McNutt, MD
2001 Antoinette F. Hood, MD
2000 Wilma F. Bergfeld, MD
1999 James H. Graham, MD
1998 A. Bernard Ackerman, MD
1997 Elson B. Helwig, MD