The American Society of Dermatopathology

2024 Elson B. Helwig Lectureship Nominations

Thank you for your interest. The call for nominations is now closed. All applicants will be notified in March 2023.

DEADLINE: Tuesday, February 28, 2023, at Noon Central

Late and/or incomplete nominations will not be considered.

This clinically oriented lecture began in October 1998 as the “Special Guest Lecture.” On July 31, 2000, the “Special Guest Lecture” was officially named the Elson B. Helwig Memorial Lecture in tribute of Dr. Helwig. The lectureship is awarded in recognition of excellence in the realm of diagnostic dermatopathology and for significant contribution to the dermatopathology literature and the education of fellows and colleagues.

Instructions for Nominations

Complete nomination packets must be submitted online no later than Noon Central Time on Tuesday, February 28, 2023.

Nomination packets must include:

  • Minimum of one (1) letter of recommendation and support

  • Nominee's CV

  • Nominee's Abbreviated Biography

  • Nominee's current photo electronically formatted to a high-resolution JPEG file

Letters of nominations should document reasons why the individual should be considered for the lectureship and state the relationship between the nominator and nominee. A minimum of one (1) recommendation letter is required for the nominee to be considered for the lectureship. The nominee's CV, an abbreviated biography and a current photo electronically formatted to a high-resolution JPEG file must also be included in the nomination packet. Abbreviated biographies and photos will be published in print materials and on the Society website. All complete nomination packets will be forwarded to the Program Committee for consideration. Nomination packets that are not complete and do not include the required documentation will not be considered.

Previous Lecturers

2022   Jane Grant-Kels, MD
2021   Jason L. Hornick, MD, PhD
2020   Dirk M. Elston, MD
2019   Richard A. Scolyer, BMEDSci, MBBS
2018   James W. Patterson, MD
2017   Elaine S. Jaffe, MD
2016   Sharon W. Weiss, MD
2015   Timothy H. McCalmont, MD
2014   Wilma F. Bergfeld, MD, FACP, FAAD
2013   Luis Requena, MD, PhD
2012   Boris C. Bastian, MD, PhD
2011   Heinz H. Kutzner, MD
2010   Helmut Kerl, MD
2009   Amy S. Paller, MD
2008   Paul A. Khavari, MD, PhD
2007   Steven Rosenberg, MD, PhD
2006   Jouni Uitto, MD, PhD
2005   Lorenzo Cerroni, MD
2004   Christopher D.M. Fletcher, MD, FRCPath
2003   Phillip H. McKee, MD
2002   Jean L. Bolognia, MD


Contact ASDP by email [email protected], or phone +1-847-572-2176.