The American Society of Dermatopathology

Elson B. Helwig Memorial Lecture

Cutaneous Infections

Sunday, November 8
8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. Central Time

AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM

The Elson B. Helwig Memorial lectureship is awarded in recognition of excellence in the realm of diagnostic dermatopathology and for significant contribution to the dermatopathology literature and the education of fellows and colleagues.

Dirk M. Elston, MD

Medical University of South Carolina

This year’s Helwig Lecture will focus on emerging infections, advancing diagnostic technologies and clinicopathological correlation. 

Learning Objectives:
Upon completion of this course, participants should be able to:
  • Differentiate clinical and histological features of various emerging infections.
  • Utilize emerging diagnostic technologies to improve patient care and outcome.
  • Identify relevant pathogens and their roles in emerging infectious diseases.‚Äč

Previous Lecturers

2019 Richard A. Scolyer, BMedSci, MBBS
2018 James W. Patterson, MD
2017 Elaine S. Jaffe, MD
2016 Sharon W. Weiss, MD
2015 Timothy H. McCalmont, MD
2014 Wilma F. Bergfeld, MD, FACP, FAAD
2013 Luis Requena, MD, PhD
2012 Boris C. Bastian, MD, PhD
2011 Heinz H. Kutzner, MD
2010 Helmut Kerl, MD
2009 Amy S. Paller, MD
2008 Paul A. Khavari, MD, PhD
2007 Steven Rosenberg, MD, PhD
2006 Jouni Uitto, MD, PhD
2005 Lorenzo Cerroni, MD
2004 Christopher D.M. Fletcher, MD, FRCPath
2003 Phillip H. McKee, MD
2002 Jean L. Bolognia, MD