The American Society of Dermatopathology

Hermann Pinkus Basic Science Course

From Pixels to Probes: Dermatopathology on the Cusp of Transformation

Thursday, October 20
4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. CT


Course Director
Jane L. Messina, MD
Moffitt Cancer Center

2.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™

This year’s Basic Science Course will present practical in-depth updates on technologic advances in the ‎realm of digital ‎pathology, artificial intelligence, and cutting-edge molecular methods involving visualization ‎of tissue, providing a view of an emerging field and its potential ‎impact on daily dermatopathology practice, ‎and how some of the ‎established methods ‎could be potentially implemented into practice. ‎
The course will be comprised of four 30-minute lectures given by four speakers, ‎concluding with a live ‎Q&A session.‎ The four topics to be discussed are: ‎
  • Digital Dermatopathology Sign-out: From Soup to Nuts – covering ‎implementation of currently ‎approved methods for digital pathology, touching on regulatory issues, as well as ‎integrated ‎platforms for reporting cases in a digital environment. ‎
  • Leveraging Machine Learning/Artificial Iintelligence to Improve Diagnosis in Dermatopathology: ‎will include a discussion of current status of research ‎on machine learning/AI on large data sets in ‎dermatopathology and potential future implementations of this ‎technology. ‎‎
  • The Skin Through Different Lenses: State of the Field in Other Methods – will discuss optical ‎coherence ‎tomography, high frequency ultrasound, spectroscopy and reflectance confocal ‎microscopy. A ‎variety of visualization techniques of potential practical interest to ‎dermatopathology will be discussed‎, with focus on techniques in active‎ clinical practice or have ‎significant potential for implementation in the ‎future. Many of these ‎techniques are at the ‎intersection of clinical dermatology and dermatopathology and are thus of interest to practicing ‎dermatopathologists. ‎
  • Seeing at the Molecular Level: Spatial “Omics” will cover techniques of analysis that involve using ‎digital images to guide ‎further molecular analysis. It is the most “basic science” oriented of the ‎topics.

Faculty and Course Outline:

4:00 p.m. – 4:05 p.m. ‎CT     Introductions
Jane L. Messina, MD
Moffitt Cancer Center
‎4:05 p.m. – 4:35 p.m. ‎CT Digital Dermatopathology ‎Sign-out: From Soup to Nuts ‎
Liron Pantanowitz, MD
University of Michigan
4:35 p.m. – 5:05 p.m. ‎CT Leveraging Machine ‎Learning & AI to Improve ‎Diagnosis in ‎‎Dermatopathology
Jonhan Ho, MD
University of Pittsburgh Medical ‎Center
‎5:05 p.m. – 5:35 p.m. ‎CT The Skin Through Different ‎Lenses: State of the Field in ‎Other Methods
Melissa Gill, MD‎
Karolinska University Hospital Solna, Sweden‎
‎5:35 p.m. – 6:05 p.m. ‎CT Seeing at the Molecular Level: ‎Spatial “Omics” ‎
Kenneth Tsai, MD, PhD
Moffitt Cancer Center
6:05 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. ‎CT Q&A, Closing Remarks & Announcements

Learning Objectives
Upon completion of this course, participants should be able to:‎
  • ‎Use currently approved methods for digital pathology in daily dermatopathology practice. ‎
  • Describe ‎regulatory issues and platforms used for reporting cases in a digital environment. ‎
  • ‎Demonstrate greater understanding of the current status of research on machine learning and ‎artificial intelligence to ‎enhance and aid accurate dermatopathology diagnosis.‎
  • Evaluate various digital visualization techniques, including optical coherence tomography, high ‎frequency ultrasound, spectroscopy and ‎reflectance confocal microscopy of potential practical ‎‎interest and benefit to dermatopathology. ‎
  • ‎Apply spatial “omics” techniques of analysis that involve ‎using digital images to guide further ‎molecular analysis, improved diagnosis and patient outcomes. ‎

Previous Hermann Pinkus Memorial Basic Science Course Directors

In 2010 the format of the Hermann Pinkus Memorial Lecture was changed to encompass a wider range of scientific topics that relate to the field of dermatopathology.

2021 Gregory A. Hosler, MD, PhD and Eleanor A. Knopp, MD
2020 Michael T. Tetzlaff, MD, PhD
2019 Julia S. Lehman, MD
2018 Jon A. Reed, MD
2017 Melissa P. Piliang, MD
2016 Melissa Pulitzer, MD
2015 Beth S. Ruben, MD
2014 Tammie C. Ferringer, MD
2013 Ronald P. Rapini, MD
2012 Steven D. Billings, MD
2011 Klaus J. Busam, MD
2010 Lawrence E. Gibson, MD
2009 Lisa A. Beck, MD
2008 Norma J. Nowak, PhD
2007 David Fisher, MD, PhD
2006 Sharon Weiss, MD
2005 Boris C. Bastian, MD
2004 Michael W. Piepkorn, MD
2003 A. Razzaque Ahmed, MD
2002 Philip E. LeBoit, MD
2001 Robert C. Gallo, MD
2000 Elaine Fuchs, PhD
1999 Thomas A. Waldmann, MD
1998 David T. Woodley, MD
1997 Karen A. Holbrook, PhD
1996 Judah Folkman, MD
1995 Margaret Kripke, MD
1993 Douglas R. Lowy, MD
1992 Walter R. Gammon, MD
1991 Stephen I. Katz, MD, PhD
1990 Lance A. Liotta, MD, PhD
1989 John R. Stanley, MD
1988 Jouni J. Uitto, MD, PhD
1987 Clive Taylor, MD, PhD
1986 Tung-Tien Sun, PhD