The American Society of Dermatopathology

Dermatopathology Fellowships

Dermatopathology Fellowship Application Cycle
for fellowships beginning July 2023
Dermatopathology fellowship training directors from across the nation have proposed using an internally devised timeline for applications to dermatopathology fellowship training programs that will begin in July 2023 in an effort to establish more uniformity and fairness for both fellowship applicants and fellowship programs. The programs listed below have agreed to the timeline for external applicants applying to their programs. Inclusion in this list does not guarantee a vacant fellowship position.*

This list is not an exhaustive list of available dermatopathology fellowship programs. All programs (regardless of participation in this timeline) are accessible to applicants by searching the ACGME website. It is the responsibility of applicants to confirm the timeline of application submission with the individual programs to which they are applying. 

This downloadable fellowship application was approved by a majority of Dermatopathology fellowship program directors and may be an acceptable application form for many of the programs in which you are interested in applying. Please contact individual programs to confirm that this application can be submitted. Each program may have institution-specific forms to submit as well during the application process. It is up to the applicant to ensure that the correct forms are submitted.

*Programs planning to offer a fellowship position to an internal candidate or other valid agreed upon reason for “opting out” may extend fellowship offers prior to the October 1, 2021 date mentioned below.

     • June - September 2021: programs accepting applications. 
        Programs may also accept applications after these dates.
     • August - November 2021: interviews. 
        Programs may also interview applicants after these dates.
     • October 1, 2021: for the 2023-2024 fellowship year (with 72 hours for applicants to accept/decline first
        offer) Offers may also be extended at any time AFTER this date, with applicants having at least 24 hours
        to accept/decline.
        ***Please note: It is the recommended guideline/practice that applicants only hold/consider one fellowship
        offer at  a time. Should an applicant receive >1 offer, the recommended practice would be that the     
       applicant should turn down the one they want the least while deciding to accept/decline the other.

Baylor College of Medicine (Houston, TX)
Johns Hopkins University
Loyola University
MD Anderson Cancer Center 
Northwestern University
Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
ProPath (Dallas, TX)
Saint Louis University
Texas A&M Health Science Center/ Baylor Scott and White Health
The Ohio State University
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
University of California, Los Angeles
University of Chicago Medical Center
University of Florida
University of Massachusetts
University of Mississippi
University of Pennsylvania
University of South Florida, Morsani College of Medicine
University of Texas at Houston
University of Texas, Medical Branch at Galveston
University of Vermont
University of Washington