The American Society of Dermatopathology

2013 ASDP Award Recipients

14th Annual Duel in Dermatopathology Resident Abstract Competition

1st Place
Acanthamoebiasis: An Exceedingly Rare Primary Cutaneous Infection
Annie S. Morrison, MD
Emory University, Atlanta, GA

2nd Place
Hyaline Vascular Type Castleman's Disease Presenting as Periorbital Discoloration and Swelling
Hye Jin Chung, MD
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia, PA

3rd Place
A Cutaneous Facial Mass Identified as the New Entity "Mammary Analogue Secretory Carcinoma" of Salivary Gland Origin
Yen Tun Wang, MD
Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA

Physician in Training Awards

Best Fellows’ Case Presentation

WNT Signaling in Hair Follicle Stem Cell Progenitors Drives Human Hair Follicle Growth
Peggy Myung, MD, PhD
Yale University, New Haven, CT

Best Resident/Fellow Oral Presentations

Effects of Vemurafenib on CD8 T-cell Responses to BRAF-Mutated Murine Melanoma
Andrea Boni, MD
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, NH

Metastasizing Basal Cell Carcinoma: Clinicopathologic, Molecular, and Immunohistochemical Study of 19 Cases
Mark C. Mochel, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

Analysis of Spitzoid Neoplasms with Mono versus Bi-allelic 9p21 Deletions for Clinical Outcomes, Histomorphology, BRAF Mutations and p16 Expression
Pedram Yazdan, MD
Northwestern University, Chicago, IL

Best Resident/Fellow Poster Presentations

Desmoplastic Melanoma with Sarcomatous de-Differentiation
Maija Kiuru, MD, PhD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, NY

Netrophilic Myeloid-derived Suppresor Cells and Conventional Neutrophils Suppress T-cells and Promote Angionenesis in Malignant Melanoma
Jennifer S. Ko, MD, PhD
Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH

Cerebriform Connective Tissue Nevus in a Patient with Proteus Syndrome
Angela M.B. Collie, MD, PhD
Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH

2013 ASDP Physician-in-Training Awards Sponsor

Mark A. Hurt, MD
ASDP Secretary-Treasurer, 2009-2013
ASDP President-Elect, 2013-2014