The American Society of Dermatopathology

2014 ASDP Award Recipients

ASDP congratulates the recipients of the 2014 Duel in Dermatopathology Awards and the Physician-in-Training Awards.

15th Annual Duel in Dermatopathology Awards

1st Place
The BAP1 Cancer Syndrome: A Case of Metastatic Melanoma and Characteristic Atypical Melanocytic Lesions 
Katherine  Roy, MD 
University of North Carolina Hospitals

2nd Place
Extensive cutaneous involvement of an extranodal NK/T-cell lymphoma, nasal type with hemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis 
Conor Dolehide, MD 
Rush University

3rd Place
Congenital nevi versus metastatic melanoma in a newborn to a mother with malignant melanoma – diagnosis supported by Sex Chromosome Analysis and Imaging Mass Spectrometry 
Ahmed K. Alomari, MD
Yale University


Physician-in-Training Awards

Best Fellows' Case Presentation

Mutations in adenosine deaminase 2 in cutaneous polyarteritis nodosa
Tania Gonzalez-Santiago, MD
Mayo Clinic

Oral Abstract Presentations

Expression of K-Type Human Endogenous Retroviral Element in Melanocytic Lesions Correlates With Anatomic Site
Liliana Rincon, MD
University of Texas Medical Branch

Differential Expression of GATA3 Expression in Cutaneous Squamous Cell Carcinoma Progression in Sun-Protected and Sun-Exposed Sites
Khaled Hassan, MD
Washington University

Whole Genome Single Nucleotide Polymorphism Array in Spitzoid Neoplasms
Kari Sufficool, MD
Washington University School of Medicine/Barnes-Jewish Hospital


Poster Abstract Presentations

Significance of histologic pattern of Merkel cell carcinoma (MCC) metastasis in sentinel lymph node biopsies (SLNBx) and patient immune status in disease outcome
Jennifer Ko, MD
Cleveland Clinic     

Estrogen Dermatitis Presenting as Erythema Multiforme
Stephanie Ortman, MD
Mayo Clinic

An Unusual Lichenoid Dermatitis Presenting in a Patient with Enteropathy and Endocrinopathy
Yen Wang, MD
UCLA Medical Center

Acanthosis Nigricans Variant of Mycosis Fungoides
Esther Cheng, MD
Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York, NY


View the 2013 Award Recipients